© Copyright 2004-2019 Associazione Culturale Valsesia Musica. All rights reserved.
 VALSESIA MUSICA International Competition 2019

Valsesia Musica International Competition

former Viotti-Valsesia International Competition

member of AAF (Alink-Argerich Foundation) since 2004

In      1981   Franco   Fuselli,   Ermanno   Tiramani,   president   of Varallo    Sesia    Tourist    Agency,        and    Joseph        Robbone,      founder          and          artistic          director     of     “G.B.     Viotti” international   competition   in   Vercelli,   created   in   Varallo     Viotti   Valsesia,   a   new   international   piano   competition,   in order   to   highlight   young   talented   pianists   and   to   promote tourism    in    Valsesia.    After    Joseph    Robbone’s    death, “Valsesia   Musica”   association   was   founded   to   provide   the competition   with   an   efficient   organizing   committee.   In 1990   Vincenzo   Balzani   became   artistic   director   and   he boosted   the   contest   changing   the   repertory   and   including the   final   round   with   orchestra.   Later   further   sections   have been    added:    voice    (1993),    junior    (1997),    violin    and orchestra    (1998)    so    the    competition,    whose    name changed    to    Valsesia        Musica    in    2000,    has    grown    in popularity   among   music   lovers.   High-level   laureates   as the    pianists:    Giuseppe    Andaloro,    Olivier    Cazal,    Ian Fountain,   Igor   Kamenz,   Jura   Margulis,   Antonio   Pompa   - Baldi,    Sergei    Tarasov    and    Chloe    Jiyeong    Mun;    the singers:   Walter   Fraccaro   and   Sun   Xiu   Wei;   the   violinists: Antal   Szalai,   Nikita   Borisoglebsky,   Fedor   Rudin,   Francesca Dego,   Anna   Tifu,   Edoardo   Zosi   and   Sayaka   Shoji   also demonstrate    the    worldwide    fame    of    Valsesia    Musica Competition    in    the    international    music    context.    These great   achievements   are   due   to   a   proficient   organizing staff,   to   a   large   number   of   friends,   to   a   few   entrepreneurs and   above   all   of   to   the   fundamental   support   of      public bodies   (Piedmont   region,   the   provinces   of   Biella,   Novara and    Vercelli,    Vercelli    Chamber    of    Commerce,    Valsesia Mountain     Community,     many     municipalities     spread throughout   Valsesia)   and   foundations   as:   “Compagnia   di San   Paolo”,   “CRT”,   ”Cassa   di   Risparmio   di   Vercelli”,   “BPN per   il   territorio”.      Last   but   not   the   least   the   important   role of    the    juries    must    be    mentioned:    Marcello    Abbado, Sulamita    Aronovsky,    Vincenzo    Balzani,    Carlo    Bergonzi, Arturo     Bonucci,     Renato     Bruson,     Giovanna     Canetti, Roberto    Cappello,    Luciano    Chailly,    Fiorenza    Cossotto, Marcella   Crudeli,   Lya   De   Barberiis,   Sergei   Dorensky,   Maria Golia,   Romano   Gandolfi,   Eugen   Indjic,   Shuku   Iwasaki, Sergej    Krylov,    Massimo    Marin,    Bruno    Mezzena,    Jean Micault,   Rita   Orlandi   Malaspina,   Rolando   Panerai,   Giacinto Prandelli,     Luciana     Serra,     Tiziano     Severini,     Eliodoro Sollima,    Alfredo    Speranza,    Hubert    Stuppner,    Giorgio Vidusso,   are   only   a   few   of   the   illustrious   musicians   who have   served   as   members   of   the   panels   of   Valsesia   Musica competition over the years.                     Vincenzo Balzani
“Music is one of the noblest acts of love human beings can give one another.” Antonio Pistarà
Associazione Culturale VALSESIA MUSICA
35th Valsesia Musica International Competition Violin and Orchestra 11 - 16 May 2019 Voice 8 - 12 October 2019
20th Valsesia Musica Juniores International Competition 21 - 23 June 2019